Well begun is half done!

On the 16th of December 2012, five teams auctioned for 124 of the best Hockey players in the world. In our commitment to have the best, we bid for the Indian team captain Sardar Singh who is now also a part of Delhi WAVERIDERS. He is the highest paid hockey player in this first season and we are elated to have him on our team.  Sardar Singh is an Arjuna Award winner and is popularly referred to as sade santnagar di shan (The Pride of Santnagar) back at home in Haryana. Among the 24 players we chose to represent our team, 14 are Indian nationals while the others are from Germany, Netherlands, Pakistan, Spain, South Africa and Australia. We are proud to have this diverse bunch as one entity, Delhi WAVERIDERS. In our team captain, Sardar Singh’s words – “The discussions on HIL have already begun on social networking sites and it is really great to be associated with the league and I hope to enjoy the season.”


As a team, our ideology is to revive the spirit of this sport and we live by the slogan, LIVE HOCKEY. LOVE HOCKEY.


Name Positions Nationality

Goal Keeper

Nicolas Jacobi Germany
Pirmin Blaak Netherlands


Akashdeep Singh India
Danish Mujtaba India
Gurwinder Singh Chandi India
Imran Khan India
Lloyd Norris-Jones South Africa
Matthew Gohdes Australia
Muhammad Rizwan Sr. Pakistan
Oskar Deecke Germany
Simon Child New Zealand
Talwinder Singh India
Yuvraj Valmiki India


Andres Mir Bel Spain
Bipin Kishor Kerketta India
Gurbaj Singh India
Muhammad Rizwan Jr. Pakistan
Sardar Singh India


Hans Raj India
Rahul Shilpkar India
Rupinder Pal Singh India
Surender Kumar India
Taeke Taekema Netherlands
Vikramjit Singh India

More footage here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=RYVWTOm0Lr8#

We are taking  home the winner’s trophy this season.  Game on !


One thought on “Well begun is half done!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>